Home > Departments & Agencies > Health & Public Safety > Sheriff's Office > Concealed Carry Law > CCW Procedures and Hours

CCW Procedures and Hours

Applications are taken Monday through Friday 8:00 am until 3:45 pm. and Saturday from 8:00 am to 11:00 am. NO APPOINTMENT IS NEEDED. Applications are not accepted due to office being closed on these legal holidays:

  • New Year's Day
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
  • Presidents' Day
  • Memorial Day
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Columbus Day
  • Veterans Day
  • Thanksgiving and Friday
  • Christmas

NEW CCW APPLICATIONS

We need YOU TO BRING a completed CURRENT* application; a passport sized photo, color and taken within the last 30 days, that WILL STAY WITH YOUR PAPER APPLICATION; your driver's license, and a training certificate dated within the last 3 years. The photo for your CCW PERMIT CARD will be taken on the day of application. If you are an active duty military personnel or you have been honorably discharged within the last 10 years, we do not need a training certificate, a military issued ID showing your active status or a DD-214 showing honorable discharge will suffice. If you have been a resident of Ohio for the last 5 years, the cost is $67. If you have not been a resident of Ohio for the last five years, the cost is $77. If you live in a state other than Ohio but work in the state of Ohio the cost is $77. We accept only BANK CERTIFIED CHECKS or MONEY ORDER made out to Erie County Sheriff's Office. We DO NOT ACCEPT personal checks, business checks, credit cards, nor cash.

RENEWAL CCW APPLICATIONS

We need a completed CURRENT* application, your current permit, and driver’s license. We do not require a photo for the application, however, we will take a new photo for the permit the day you apply. No requalification is required. The cost is $50. We accept only BANK CERTIFIED CHECK or MONEY ORDER made out to Erie County Sheriff’s Office. We DO NOT ACCEPT personal checks, business checks, credit cards, nor cash.

Applications may be found here on our website under Applications or on the website at www.Ohioattorneygeneral.gov.

The State of Ohio gives us 45 days to process applications.  While we try to complete them in less time, some do take the full 45 days.

Completed CCW permits can be picked up Monday through Friday 8:00 am to 3:45 pm. and Saturday 8:00 am to 11:00 am.

If you have any questions feel free to call the CCW office at 419-625-7951 ext. 6256.

CURRENT* = Rev.3/15 which appears on page 5, lower right corner.

Change of Address Form

 

facebook_logo_small.jpg