Home > Departments & Agencies > Health & Public Safety > Sheriff's Office > Sex Offenders > 2008 - New Tier System

2008 - New Tier System

On January 1, 2008 many changes became effective to the sex offender registration laws in Ohio. On that date Ohio Attorney Generals Office assigned each offender to a 'Tier' level. That level has been assigned based on the crime(s) of which the offender was convicted. A document showing the Tier levels and offenses may be seen by clicking on the link below marked 'Tier Levels.'

Under the new Tier system some offenders must now register more often and for longer periods.

  • Tier 1 Offenders must register once per year for 15 years. (formerly 10 years)
  • Tier 2 Offenders must now register every 180 days for 25 years (formerly one per year for 20 years)
  • Tier 3 Offenders must register every 90 days for life.

In addition each offender will now be required to provide the Sheriff’s Office with more information about themselves at the times they register. That information will include all vehicles registered to them or which they may operate, all professional licenses, including passports and Visa's, and all internet accounts they may have, including e-mail addresses and any MySpace or similar accounts they may use.

Tier Levels for Sexually Oriented Offenses

Tier Levels for Child Victim Oriented Offenses

To determine if an offender is in the state prison system you may search by using the link below:

ODRC Offender Database Search

To determine if an offender is in a county jail you must contact that local Sheriff's Office directly.

eSorn's Safety and Education Resources

For more information about a sex offender living or working in Erie County please contact Captain Steven D. Westcott atSWestcott@eriecounty.oh.gov or at (419) 627-7668 Ext. 271.

 

facebook_logo_small.jpg