Home > Departments & Agencies > County Services > Board of Commissioners

Board of Commissioners

As your Commissioners, we are proud to serve our residents and guests.  We are committed to providing a high quality of life for all who live in, work at, or visit our communities.  Our unique blend of skilled workforces, leisure and recreational opportunities is why we say Erie County is where resources abound.
-Erie County Commissioners

Mission Statement

To improve the health, safety and welfare of all Erie County citizens, the strength of its economy and the quality of the environment.

monaghan.jpgBill Monaghan is a fifth generation Erie County resident and was born and raised in Sandusky and Perkins Township.  Bill was elected to his third term as Erie County Commissioner on November 3, 2014. He is married to the former Judy Baxter and has two grown children and six grandchildren.  He graduated from St. Mary’s High School and attended Bowling Green State University.  He retired in December, 2005 from Wabash Alloys, formerly known as Vulcan Materials, after 40 years in the secondary aluminum business.  Bill was the Senior Purchasing Manager at Wabash Alloys managing over a half billion dollars of raw material purchases each year. Wabash Alloys was the world leader in aluminum casting alloys to the automotive industry.  Bill serves on the County Commissioners Association of Ohio (CCAO) General Government & Operations Committee, Jobs, Economic Development & Infrastructure Committee  and Water Quality Task Force.  He is also a Board Member of the Firelands Symphony Orchestra, Erie County Chamber of Commerce, Erie County Economic Development Corporation and several other boards and committees.

Tom-Ferrell-Pic.jpgThomas M. Ferrell, Jr. is now serving his sixth term as Erie County Commissioner. Mr. Ferrell was born and raised in Sandusky. He attended Sandusky High School, graduated from Bowling Green State University and taught government, history and economics at Sandusky High School. From 1986 – 1989 Mr. Ferrell served as a Perkins Township Trustee and on November 4, 2008 he was re-elected to his sixth term as Commissioner of Erie County. He is President of the Board of County Commissioners.





shenigo.jpgPatrick Shenigo was elected to the Erie County, Ohio Board of Commissioners on November 4, 2008. He is a life-long resident of the Erie County Community. Pat is married to Cam (Stacey) Shenigo, and has four children. He has been involved in real estate development and business ventures in Erie, Lorain, Cuyahoga, and Franklin Counties.

Among advocating for reduced spending and efficient government since taking office in 2009, Mr. Shenigo has served on the Transit Technical Advisory Committee and Executive Board, the Erie County Land Bank Executive Board, President of the Erie County Solid Waste District, and President of the Erie County Metropolitan Planning Organization's Policy Committee.

Mr. Shenigo has also been privotal in assisting in the development of the newly created Erie County Port Authority and has provided support to various regional transportation projects including improvements along the US 250 Corridor.

Also, he continues to champion the local NASA Plum Brook Research Station on regional, state, and national platforms; sharing the message that Plum Brook is a world-class testing and research facility that has far reaching impacts on national security and the economy.

Board of Commissioners Resources