...where resources abound
Erie County Municipal Court
Board of Commissioners
Clerk of Courts
Common Pleas Court
Departments & Agencies
Mental Health Recovery Board
Environmental Services (D.O.E.S.)
Erie Regional Planning Commission
Serving Our Seniors
Board of Elections
Family & Children First Council
Board of DD
Erie Conservation District
Solid Waste District
Child Support Enforcement Agency
Family & Workforce Development
The Meadows at Osborn Park
Clerk of the Board
Job & Family Services
Lake Erie Shores & Islands
Chamber of Commerce
Law and Procedure
Local Court Rules - 1991
Schedule of Fees
Guardianship & Conservatorship Forms
Marriage License FAQs
In order to be married in the State of Ohio, parties must first obtain a license. Only the Probate Court can issue a marriage license. A marriage license is obtained in the county where one of the parties resides, although the parties can then be married anywhere in the State of Ohio. Both parties must be 18 years old to be married without Juvenile Court approval. Each County has their own requirements for obtaining a marriage license so it is necessary to call the Probate Court in the county of residence if you have a question.
The following are the requirements for Erie County residents:
Picture Identification is required. (Driver's license, passport, photo ID)
Birth Certificate is required.
NO Blood Tests are required in the State of Ohio
Ohio Residents must reside in Erie County and have proof of residency.
(Proof can be valid license, rent receipt or other proof as requested by Court)
Both parties must be over the age of 18 to apply without Juvenile Court approval. Applicants 17 years of age must meet other requirements, according to the State of Ohio, prior to applying for a license and should contact the Juvenile Court for requirements. Written Confirmation of completion of marriage counseling is required.
Previously married applicants need a final decree of divorce, judgment entry, or order granting their divorce, dissolution or annulment from their last prior marriage. This paperwork must contain the following items: The Jurisdiction, Case Number, date granted (not necessarily same day you were in court), The name of parties and of any minor children. If the divorce occurred in Erie County, the information can be obtained from the Clerk of Court's office on the 1st. Floor of the Courthouse prior to applying for the license. If a previous marriage ended in the death of a spouse, a death certificate is required.
License is valid for 60 days and can be used anywhere in the State of Ohio by Erie County Residents. Erie County residents marrying in other states must obtain a license in that state and should contact that state for their requirements.
The marriage can be performed by any Municipal Court Judge, Mayor, or Minister. Please confirm that the Minister is registered with the State of Ohio.
Out of State residents MUST be married in the county where they obtain the marriage license. Both parties must be from out of state.
Marriage Licenses Certified Copy - Form
Certified Copy Request
View text-based website