Water Department

Home  \  Water Department
The Erie County Water System provides safe drinking water to over 9,000 homes and businesses throughout the County. All of the water that is distributed is purchased from the cities of Sandusky, Huron, Vermilion and Northern Ohio Rural Water, which have their own facilities for treating water from Lake Erie. Erie County then distributes the water through a network of 12 pump stations, 11 water towers, 1,000 valves and 200 miles of 4-inch to 16-inch water mains.

The Water Division is located at 554 River Road, Huron, Ohio. From this location, 9 employees of the Division do myriad tasks that keep the entire system operating smoothly. They monitor and adjust water levels in the water towers daily, maintain 1525 fire hydrants throughout the County, connect water lines for new homes and businesses, read water meters, and respond to water main breaks and other service problems in all kinds of weather and at all hours of the day and night. This dedicated and hard-working crew keeps over 1.5 billion gallons of water flowing per year.
View text-based website